Reviews

9.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.2
Facilities
9.5
Staff
10
Value
9.5

Reviews

    Thomas
    gb

    Review score

    10
    2 June 2018

    An incredible place to stay when you visit Izu Oshima! We would definitely come back again!

    Staying in Voneten Guesthouse was for sure one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. It is not just a standard hotel or guesthouse, Tomo (the owner) makes sure to welcome you to the Oshima island in the best possible way. The guesthouse itself is a beautiful traditional house, well furnished and clean. We had a pleasure to stay in there. We are convinced that Tomo knows every single person on the island so he helped us with so many things, from transport to the volcano (he picked us on the way back because we couldn't make it for the last bus) to food recommendation. A must try is Tomo's fish-shaped pancakes, there were a delicious breakfast!
    Winston
    sg

    Review score

    10
    24 April 2018

    Wonderful experience

    Bathroom was outside but that's structural.
    Taiyaki was super delicious and unique. Bedding was comfortable.
    Anh Thu
    ch

    Review score

    9.6
    14 April 2018

    Wow. Beautiful guest house. Staff so friendly! Thanks!

    The bus connection between north and south of island is poor. Better have a car to be able to circulate freely on Oshima!
    Could not have been better. Tomo and her wife made our stay at voneten guest house unforgettable.
    ee

    Review score

    10
    13 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    jp

    Review score

    10
    6 June 2017

    Wonderful place To stay

    The guesthouse is a beautiful traditional house, I felt like I was in a period drama, It was magical. The owner, Tomo-san is the nicest person ever, he was really kind To us and helped us a lot. The breakfast was both beautifully presentd and really delicious as well, never eaten such Taiyaki before. We had a trully wonderful stay, I strongly recommend Voneten guesthouse if You visit Oshima Island.
    Thomas
    jp

    Review score

    10
    26 May 2017

    Live in a fairy-tale Japanese house

    The owner of the house was incredibly helpful and hosptiable from the very beginning, even organizing a rental car and making dinner reservations for me. The house itself is a picture-book Japanese house with tatami mats, sliding doors, futons, house shrine, etc. in top condition and combined with modern tech sound system and Apple TV. Plus, there is a lighthouse on a hill not 10 minutes from the house where you can watch the stars, island and ocean from on clear nights. I felt perfectly at home and would highly recommend this both for lone travellers as well as groups.
    Zachary
    au

    Review score

    10
    29 November 2016

    Beautiful and serene.

    The owner was incredibly helpful and made delicious breakfast Taiyaki. I wish we could have stayed longer.
    Yean Wee
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    22 November 2017
    If you always wanted to live in a traditional Japanese house this is the place for you. Despite its age, it is comfortable, very well furnished and maintained, with modern facilities, like appleTV with and a sound system. It comes complete with kitchen, washing machine, bath and modern toilet, as well as 2 pet cats. The host, Mr Tomoyuki, was very friendly and helpful. His taiyaki breakfast was awesome.
    Lynne
    us

    Review score

    10
    19 June 2017

    We didn't want to leave!

    Tomo, the owner/manager could not have been more helpful, kind and accommodating. He made dinner reservations for us at excellent places we would never have known about, offered sightseeing recommendations based on the weather and was helpful in all tourist things. It was helpful that he speaks English. House was beautifully appointed.
    MajorMIMI
    us

    Review score

    10
    28 January 2017
    We had a wonderful time on Oshima and at Voneten! Thank you so much for a magical stay!
    Misty
    us

    Review score

    10
    22 November 2016

    Beautiful stay that we will never forget!

    The internet could have been faster, but it was free so I can't complain!
    Tomo is the sweetest person and tries so hard to accommodate everyone! The guest house was clean and just drop dead gorgeous. The amenities were great!